Change How Long Content Is Stored in Channels

  • Updated

Encoder channels and web channels both store content. Encoder channels store the raw content your encoder uploads to the cloud (this content is also accessible to decoders for playback at a physical location). Web channels store transcoded content that you can play back on the web. Based on your streaming strategy, you can change the length of time content is stored before deletion.

image1.png

Storage length is tier-dependent: Social Only and Starter Lite Live Streaming subscriptions can store content in channels for up to 7 days. Professional and Enterprise Live Streaming subscriptions can store content in channels for up to 30 days.


Change How Long Content Is Stored in an Encoder Channel

  1. In Studio, click Settings.
  2. Navigate to the Encoder Channels page. (Go there)
  3. Click the encoder channel you want to change how long content is stored for.
  4. Click the edit icon image3.png.
  5. Under Delete After, click the dropdown menu and select how long you want content to be stored before it’s deleted. image4.png

Once content is deleted, it’s gone forever and irretrievable.

  1. Click Save.

All new encoder videos will be stored for the duration you select. If you’re lowering the amount of time encoder videos are stored, it will affect older encoder videos. For example, lowering this value from 30 to 14 days will cause Resi to delete encoder videos from 15 or more days previous.

Increasing the delete after days will not affect older encoder videos, they will still be deleted when they were previously scheduled to be.  For example, if you had a video scheduled to delete after 14 days, it will still delete after that fourteenth day even if you increase this value.


Change How Long Content Is Stored in a Web Channel

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Navigate to the Web Channels page. (Go there)
  3. lick the options icon image5.png> View Details beside the web channel you want to modify.
  4. Click the edit icon image3.png.
  5. Under Storage Length, click the dropdown menu and select how long you want content to be stored before it’s deleted.image2.png
  6. Click Save.

All new web videos will be stored for the duration you select. If you’re lowering the amount of time web videos are stored, it will affect older web videos. For example, lowering this value from 30 to 14 days will cause Resi to delete web videos that were created 15 or more days ago.

Increasing the delete after days will not affect older web videos, they will still be deleted when they were previously scheduled to be.  For example, if you had a video scheduled to delete after 14 days, it will still delete after that fourteenth day even if you increase this value.

If you’d like to store your videos for longer than your channels allow, save them to your library with Resi’s Content Library feature. You can store them indefinitely with a storage limit that’s tier-dependent. Each video has its own unique embed code and Stream URLs, which you can use to archive and replay content wherever and whenever you want. To learn more about Resi’s Content Library, please contact our Customer Success Team.

Was this article helpful?