How to Stream to YouTube

  • Updated

Streaming your content to YouTube can be an efficient way to broaden your audience and make your videos more accessible. With Resi’s platform, you can stream to one or more YouTube channels.

Before You Begin

A YouTube channel must be verified in order to live stream to that channel. To confirm or complete channel verification, a channel owner must login and complete the steps at  https://www.youtube.com/verify.  It may take up to 24 hours for YouTube to verify a YouTube channel and live streaming is not available until verification is complete. (Learn more)


Connect to Your YouTube Channel

Before you can start a stream to YouTube, the first thing you need to do is add your YouTube channel to your social media destinations in Studio. In order to do this, you will need your YouTube credentials, and appropriate permissions assigned to your YouTube channel.


1. Navigate to Your Social Media Page

  1. Log into Studio.
  2. Navigate to the Settings tab.
  3. In the Web Settings dropdown, click Social Media.

2. Link Your YouTube Account

  1. Click the Link Account button.
  2. On the following page, select YouTube.
  3. Click Grant Access to open YouTube’s sign-in utility.
  4. Enter your credentials and follow the instructions provided by the sign-in utility.
  5. Add a short account description (optional).
  6. Click Save.

Configure Your Stream to YouTube

After your new social media destination is created and access has been verified, you are ready to start streaming. When you add a social media destination to your stream, you will be asked to select how your stream will be distributed through the following options:


Privacy

This setting will determine who is able to view your event on YouTube. The settings are as follows:

  • Public - content is viewable by anyone on YouTube.
  • Private - content is only viewable by those who are given access to your private videos.
  • Unlisted - content is uploaded to YouTube, but it is only viewable via direct link.

For more information, read about YouTube’s video privacy settings.


Publish Status

The publish status of your event indicates when the video feed becomes visible. You can set your publish status for a YouTube destination as one of the following:

  • Published - the video stream will become immediately available on YouTube when the event begins. Use this status if your event is recurring.
  • Scheduled Event - the video stream will be available for viewing when the scheduled event begins. Scheduled events are only allowed for one-time events, and may only be scheduled 7 days in advance of the go-live time. YouTube will show an “upcoming live” message in the channel prior to the time of the event.

Create a New Event with a YouTube Stream

Note: You can also add YouTube to an existing event by clicking the options icon on the event and follow steps 4 and 5 below.


1. Provide Your Event Details 

  1. Go to the Schedule page in Studio.
  2. Click Add Event in the top-right corner.
  3. Give your event a helpful name and description.

2. Schedule Your Event

Select the date, time, duration, recurrence, etc. for your event.


3. Select the Content Source

You have the option of streaming either a live event through creating a new encoder schedule for a live event or a web channel for a replay event.


4. Add YouTube as a Destination

  1. Under Content Destinations, click Add Destination.
  2. For the destination type, select YouTube.
  3. Select your account and configuration settings.
  4. Enter a video title, optional description, and (for scheduled events only) and video thumbnail (these will appear on YouTube).
  5. Click Add.

YouTube has a 100-character limit for titles. If you exceed this limit, your stream may not start.


5. Save Your Event

Once you click the Save button, you can find your event by selecting it from the calendar or searching by the event title.


YouTube Analytics

YouTube analytics are available from the YouTube Studio analytics page. (Learn more


Stream Health Warning

YouTube’s stream health tool is designed to monitor RTMP streams and may occasionally show low bitrate warnings. Resi sends variable bitrate content using a DASH stream. If you receive a low bitrate warning, it is not an indication of a stream health issue. The most likely cause is that the content being streamed at the moment is using a lower bitrate, such as when the current content is a stationary slide or black screen. 


Manage Your YouTube Account in Studio

Account Status

The Status column on the Social Media page indicates the current status for the associated social media accounts. The following status options may display:

  • Access Verified - Resi verified this channel has live streaming enabled.
  • Not allowed to Live Stream - Resi verified that there is access to this social media site, but the user has not enabled live streaming yet or has not waited 24 hours after requesting social media be enabled.
  • No Access - Resi cannot access this social media account, which may happen when the Resi application permissions have yet to begin, has been revoked, or access has expired. You can re-authenticate to regain access to the social media site by clicking the Grant Access button.

Management Actions

You can now find your YouTube account listed under the Social Media tab. Once you find your account, you can monitor and manage your social media accounts in the following ways:

  • Grant Access - If your account status is labeled as No Access, you can click the Grant Access button to be taken to a page where you can do so. You can read more information under the Grant Access to Your YouTube Account section of this article.
  • Details - View the details associated with your YouTube account that are not visible from the Social Media page such as Access Expiration and a link to the YouTube channel associated with this destination.
  • Edit - Change the description of your YouTube account as it appears in Studio.
  • Delete - Remove this account from your Studio environment.

Was this article helpful?